Home

Cammie McGovern is the author of three adult novels, The Art of Seeing, Eye Contact, and Neighborhood Watch. Her anticipated young adult debut, Say What You Will, was published by HarperTeen in June, 2014.
USA book cover
UK book cover
Add to GoodReadsBuy on AmazonBuy from Barnes and NobleIndieBound

Say What You Will

FALL BOOK TOUR/APPEARANCE DATES!

I’m very excited to be appearing on Megan McCafferty’s ASK! AUTHORS! ANYTHING! A video interview with Megan and her co-hosts FRIDAY SEPT 19th at 2:00! TUNE IN!!
I’ll also be reading/talking/signing books and DELIGHTED to see you at:

Sept 27th BOSTON TEEN AUTHOR FESTIVAL—
Cambridge Public Library 449 Broadway, Cambridge MA
11:00-4:00 Panel from 11:30-12:15, Book signing from 3:00-4:00

Sept 28th Sunday 6:00
Holyoke Barnes and Noble Book Club (adult book group; all are welcome)
7 Holoke St.
Holyoke, MA

At all the following dates, I’ll be reading/talking with AMY ZHANG, author of the phenomenal FALLING INTO PLACE. (This is an amazing, must-read book which is made only more amazing by the fact that the author is eighteen years old. Young writers, come see us and be inspired!)

October 4 at 2 PM—with Amy Zhang
Buffalo Street Books
215 N. Cayuga St
Ithaca, NY

October 18 at 6 PM—with Amy Zhang
RJ Julia
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT

October 24 at 7 PM—with Amy Zhang
Wellesley Books
82 Central St
Wellesley, MA

October 26 at 3 PM—with Amy Zhang
Buttonwood Books
747 CJC Highway (rte 3A)
Cohasset, MA

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern’s insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

Media mentions!

  • People Magazine: “People Pick #7 for Summer’s Best”
  • Kirkus Review: Top Ten Summer Reads for Teens
  • Barnes and Noble: Five Reasons June is an Amazing Month for YA
  • Entertainment Weekly: One of Five YA Novels to “Watch Out for”
  • Goodreads: A “Mover and a Shaker” in June YA Teen Newsletter

The reviews:

  • Booklist (starred review): “Exhilarating and heartrending. With a smart, proud, and capable protagonist eager to take her life by the reins, this novel is stunning.”
  • Publisher’s Weekly (starred review): “In her YA debut, adult author McGovern (Neighborhood Watch) avoids gooeyness or condescension by making Amy and Matthew individuals, not diagnoses, and their relationship not just plausible, but suspenseful, as they try to figure out what they can be to each other.” Read the entire review here.
  • Kirkus Review: “Unlike its most obvious read-alike, The Fault in Our Stars, this is not a tragic romance. McGovern’s triumph is how well she normalizes and highlights the variety of disability experiences among teens and their often circuitous journeys toward claiming their voices and right to self-determination. Ultimately, a deeply engaging and rewarding story.” Read entire review here.
  • Hypable: “Overall this book is a must read for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. The honesty and depth of character as well as the typical teenage struggles will appeal to those who like realistic fiction. Say What You Will is an important book to share and everyone should meet Amy and Matt.” Read the entire review here.
  • Family Circle Magazine: Cammie McGovern channels her knowledge and passion for special- needs kids…Like the deservedly best-selling Wonder by R.J. Palacio—required reading for every family—this doesn’t just get you talking, it gets you thinking, feeling and rejoicing…
  • TeenReads.com: With summer just around the corner and a long list of books to choose from, SAY WHAT YOU WILL should be at the very top. It is not one to miss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>