Home

Cammie McGovern is the author of three adult novels, The Art of Seeing, Eye Contact, and Neighborhood Watch. Her anticipated young adult debut, Say What You Will, was published by HarperTeen in June, 2014.
USA book cover
UK book cover
Add to GoodReadsBuy on AmazonBuy from Barnes and NobleIndieBound

Say What You Will

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park in this beautifully written, incredibly honest, and emotionally poignant novel. Cammie McGovern’s insightful young adult debut is a heartfelt and heartbreaking story about how we can all feel lost until we find someone who loves us because of our faults, not in spite of them.

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

Media mentions!

  • People Magazine: “People Pick #7 for Summer’s Best”
  • Kirkus Review: Top Ten Summer Reads for Teens
  • Barnes and Noble: Five Reasons June is an Amazing Month for YA
  • Entertainment Weekly: One of Five YA Novels to “Watch Out for”
  • Goodreads: A “Mover and a Shaker” in June YA Teen Newsletter

The reviews:

  • Booklist (starred review): “Exhilarating and heartrending. With a smart, proud, and capable protagonist eager to take her life by the reins, this novel is stunning.”
  • Publisher’s Weekly (starred review): “In her YA debut, adult author McGovern (Neighborhood Watch) avoids gooeyness or condescension by making Amy and Matthew individuals, not diagnoses, and their relationship not just plausible, but suspenseful, as they try to figure out what they can be to each other.” Read the entire review here.
  • Kirkus Review: “Unlike its most obvious read-alike, The Fault in Our Stars, this is not a tragic romance. McGovern’s triumph is how well she normalizes and highlights the variety of disability experiences among teens and their often circuitous journeys toward claiming their voices and right to self-determination. Ultimately, a deeply engaging and rewarding story.” Read entire review here.
  • Hypable: “Overall this book is a must read for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. The honesty and depth of character as well as the typical teenage struggles will appeal to those who like realistic fiction. Say What You Will is an important book to share and everyone should meet Amy and Matt.” Read the entire review here.
  • Family Circle Magazine: Cammie McGovern channels her knowledge and passion for special- needs kids…Like the deservedly best-selling Wonder by R.J. Palacio—required reading for every family—this doesn’t just get you talking, it gets you thinking, feeling and rejoicing…
  • TeenReads.com: With summer just around the corner and a long list of books to choose from, SAY WHAT YOU WILL should be at the very top. It is not one to miss.

Book Tour Information! Mark Your Calendars!

If you can possibly make it, I would LOVE to see you at one of these events!

Thursday, June 26th @ 11:00 AM
NEIBA / NAIBA “All About the Books”
Hyde Park, NY

Saturday, September 27th @ 11:00 AM
Boston Teen Author Festival
Cambridge, MA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>